What studying abroad can be like …

IMG_6730Hello everybody at VRG!

During my second year on the Natural Science program at VRG Djursholm, I wanted a challenge – a new adventure where I could grow academically and on the personal level. I decided to apply to The Lawrenceville Scholarship offered by the Swedish-American foundation, and now a year later I am incredibly happy that I made that decision.

After only two months at The Lawrenceville School in New Jersey, I can already say it has become my new home. I do not live IMG_6720permanently with a host family, (which is what most Swedish exchange students in America do) but I reside at the school in a dormitory on campus with many other senior girls. This has been a great change from what I’m used to, but it is also incredibly fun to get to experience the American culture this way. The other girls and our housemasters become like a second family when you are away from home, since you do everything together.

 

The academics here are more rigorous than what I experienced during my two years at VRG and my workload is a lot heavier. However it is easy to get help from your teachers and peers, 10694363_10201994963870793_7988735350012877887_owhich makes the work very rewarding at the end. Lawrenceville also has an amazing range of classes you can take as a senior, so it is easy to find a class that you are really passionate about. Personally I wanted to experiment with subjects outside of my regular science classes at VRG, which has made me discover new interests I never knew I had! For example, I have decided to take classes in Astronomy, Buddhism and the History of Race, which are subjects I never would have had the opportunity to take during high school in Sweden.

The student life at Lawrenceville is what I would say is the greatest thing about the school. Whether you want to join after-school clubs, play for a sports-team or doing anything in the arts, there is a great variety of options to choose from. The school community is very IMG_6723tight, and everybody is certainly proud to be a “Lawrentian”, which definitely shows at different sports games and other gatherings!

Sverige-Amerika Stiftelse

Click here to see more details on how to apply …

Applying for the scholarship has been the biggest and most rewarding decision of my life. I know I will graduate from Lawrenceville as a more independent person with countless memories, life-changing experience and amazing friends from all over the world. It never hurts to try, so if you are interested, apply to the scholarship before November 28th!

10436250_900247056669573_5316685385462557509_nSara Tabari

Swedish Scholar at The Lawrenceville School 2014-2015

 

About kristylundstrom

I currently work as Head at Viktor Rydberg Gymnasium in Djursholm. I am a student of learning. I am interested to see where it happens, when it happens, and how it happens. I am also a math and computer science teacher. I have lived in Belgium and in the USA. I really appreciate my multi-cultural environment - I believe it adds dynamics to our school.
This entry was posted in international, students and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

